Yellowstone National Park

Yellowstone National Park

An independent guide. This site is not affiliated with the National Park Service.

Established: March 1, 1872 — the first national park. Size: about 2.2 million acres across Wyoming, Montana and Idaho.

Flag of Wyoming Wyoming (WY)Flag of Montana Montana (MT)Flag of Idaho Idaho (ID)

State flags: whole flags from Wikimedia Commons, current versions.

Grand Prismatic Spring and Midway Geyser Basin from above
Photo: Grand Prismatic Spring and Midway Geyser Basin from above. Credit: Brocken Inaglory, Wikimedia Commons, CC BY-SA 3.0. View the file page.

Overview

Yellowstone spreads across Wyoming, Montana and Idaho, and is known for a remarkable mix of geysers, hot springs, a large lake, a deep river canyon and wide wildlife country. Its best-known places include Old Faithful, Grand Prismatic Spring, Yellowstone Lake, the Grand Canyon of the Yellowstone and Mammoth Hot Springs.

This page gives the shape of a full park guide: short facts, practical tabs and clear links to official sources.

黃石國家公園(Yellowstone National Park)於 1872 年 3 月 1 日成立,是世界上第一座國家公園,面積約 220 萬英畝,橫跨懷俄明州、蒙大拿州和愛達荷州,以老忠實間歇泉、大稜鏡溫泉、黃石湖、黃石大峽谷和猛獁溫泉等聞名。

Source: nps.gov/yell, checked October 25, 2026. Check official information before travel, because details can change.

State flag credits: Flag of Wyoming, Flag of Montana and Flag of Idaho — Wikimedia Commons, whole current flags shown above. The Wyoming flag file is released under CC0 / public domain on its Commons page.

Trails — template structure

Trail distances, elevation change and difficulty are not filled in here unless verified in this session. Each unverified value is marked for verification at bulk import, so no figure is guessed.

Trail / areaDistanceElevationDifficulty
Fairy Falls TrailTo be verified at bulk importTo be verified at bulk importEasy (NPS easy-hike tag)
Grand Prismatic Overlook TrailTo be verified at bulk importTo be verified at bulk importTo be verified at bulk import
Lone Star Geyser TrailTo be verified at bulk importTo be verified at bulk importTo be verified at bulk import
Upper Geyser Basin boardwalk areaTo be verified at bulk importTo be verified at bulk importTo be verified at bulk import
Grand Canyon of the Yellowstone — rim viewpointsTo be verified at bulk importTo be verified at bulk importTo be verified at bulk import
Mammoth Hot Springs terraces boardwalksTo be verified at bulk importTo be verified at bulk importTo be verified at bulk import
Yellowstone Lake shoreline areaTo be verified at bulk importTo be verified at bulk importTo be verified at bulk import
Lamar Valley viewing areaTo be verified at bulk importTo be verified at bulk importTo be verified at bulk import

Verified in this session from NPS: Fairy Falls Trail — duration 3–5 hours, Midway Geyser Basin; Grand Prismatic Overlook Trail — duration 1–2 hours, Midway Geyser Basin; Lone Star Geyser Trail — duration 2–3 hours, Upper Geyser Basin. Distances and elevation for these trails were not stated on the NPS pages checked, so they remain “To be verified at bulk import”.

Camping & Lodging

Yellowstone has 11 campgrounds and over 2,000 sites in total. Dates and fees below are 2026 figures supplied for this sample and are subject to change — check before travel.

Campground2026 season / noteFee
MadisonMay 1–Oct 17$38
CanyonMay 29–Sep 19$45
Grant VillageJun 26–Sep 26$45
Bridge BayMay 15–Sep 13$38
MammothYear-round$25
Indian Creek, Lewis Lake, Slough Creek, Tower FallSee official campground pages$20 each

Reservations: in 2026, reservations were split between Yellowstone National Park Lodges and Recreation.gov. Check Recreation.gov for 2027 reservation arrangements, as these can change.

Book through Recreation.gov

Activities

Activity labels only — no listings or prices are claimed here.

HikingCampingWildlife viewingGeyser / thermal viewingFishingBoatingPhotographyWinter oversnow activities

Fees & Passes

Base 7-day entrance fees were verified on the official NPS fee page on October 25, 2026. Check nps.gov/yell before travel — fees can change.

Entry type7-day fee
Private vehicle$35
Motorcycle$30
Per person on foot or by bike$20

Non-U.S. residents aged 16 and older: an additional $100 per person applies on top of the standard entrance fee, unless the visitor holds an Annual Pass or America the Beautiful Pass.

Official NPS Fees & Passes page

Alerts & Safety

No current alert is listed on this page. Live alerts will come from the NPS API at the bulk stage. Before travel, always check current alerts and advisories at nps.gov/yell.
  • Stay on boardwalks and marked paths around thermal areas.
  • Keep a safe distance from wildlife and never approach animals.
  • Conditions change: check official advisories before going.

Weather & Seasons

Yellowstone weather changes quickly and varies by elevation and season. Summer is the busiest season, while winter brings snow and oversnow travel in parts of the park. Specific road, facility and season dates are not stated here — check the official park pages before travel, because dates and conditions change.

Pack layers, check forecasts and road status on the day of travel, and allow extra time for weather and wildlife traffic.

Map

OpenStreetMap-based map centred on Yellowstone (approx. 44.6, -110.5).

Map data © OpenStreetMap contributors. This is a locator map, not a trail or road-conditions map.

Independent guide disclaimer: This is an independent guide. It is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or connected to the National Park Service.

Data sources: National Park Service (nps.gov/yell) and OpenStreetMap. Safety note: Conditions change — check official advisories before going.

nps.gov/yell | Recreation.gov